Another Year, Another Red Velvet Cake

Josh just celebrated another birthday. This means another Red Velvet Cake. Anthony and I could never really stomach them in the beginning, but now I can finish a piece and actually like it. (I can’t speak for Anthony) There are different schools of thought on the frosting. Sorry Grandmother Paul, but that marshmallow, coconut and nut thing is nasty. Even worse is the original one Josh’s mom sent me. FLOUR based frosting….I’ll fake my own death before I eat that. What IS the best, and I’m sure Cheryl Day of Back In The Day Bakery would agree with me is a cream cheese butter frosting. (my recipe is at the end of this post) Smooth and rich with a little tang. Friends came to share a piece with Josh. Happy Birthday Mr. President!

The Captain and Dr. Tennille (aka cake and icecream)

The Captain and Dr. Tennille (aka cake and icecream)

The first slice is the reddest

The first slice is the reddest

Business in the front

Business in the front

Party in the back

Party in the back

Josh’s Birthday Red Velvet Cake Frosting

(note I always make a lot)

1 cup butter, softened

3 8oz. pkgs of cream cheese, room temp

1 teaspoon vanilla

4 cups of confectioners sugar, sifted

In the bowl of a standing mixer with a paddle attachment, cream together butter and cream cheese. Add vanilla and mix thoroughly. Add confectioners sugar by the cup full being sure to fully incorporate after each addition. Chill slightly before frosting crumb layer of cake. Return to refrigerator while crumb layer is setting. Remove from refrigerator 5 minutes before using to frost the final decorative layer on the cake.

1 Response to “Another Year, Another Red Velvet Cake”


  1. 1 Terri the "Bonus" Sister-in-law September 28, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Hi Libbie,

    I just learned we will be celebrating Jerry’s birthday with Red Velvet cake. What is the Summers’ facination with this cake. Well I am thankful that Mom will be using your frosting recipe and not the old family recipe.

    Have a fabulous trip. Hopefully we’ll see you out this way sometime soon.

    Terri


Leave a Reply

